//
you're reading...
Projects, Velvets/fake fur/shag

Catch-up#2- 2 hours project 1920’s/’30’s bias gown- Blue (stretch) Velvet

This was a fun one, I had invited a co-worker to a Burlesque night in the beautiful Bush Hall, London. Folks generally dress up fabulous for these events, so Gigi & I felt we ought to make an effort. Only problem was we were working  silly hours 6 days a week on a show, so I had to find something super quick to make, and warm as we were having a sub-zero winter in London. This took about 2 hours from drape to finish. I always loved ’20’s/30’s evening dresses, though I haven’t really the figure, but I thought, hey some cheap blue stretch velvet & a simple bias dress should do well enough. I’m thinking of doing a step by step for this one, as it is so adaptable (can do w/shallower cowl/boatneck, no sleeves, flutter sleeves etc.), needs no real pattern ( though a dress form is required) if anyone is interested.

I *hate* when dresses drop off my rather rounded shoulders, so a scrap of lace trim on the back of the neck made a nice “hold-up” without ruining the mood of the dress.

Then I had a lace collar I found in local haberdashery shop which had a nice “v” shape so tacked it on under the cowl for a wee bit of Bum Bling, and to balance out the neck lace.

I wanted a little shoulder detail and the corner of the back drape came up naturally into a nice triangle, a detail I had seen on a vintage gown at some point.

About dreamsewing

From Victorian/ Steampunk clothing, Asian inspired hair ornaments to simple alterations, I am an addict to learning new crafts. I've spent now 20 years traveling over the world and touring with various theatre companies, from Shakespearian, to ballet, to Cirque du Soleil. This blog is mainly for talking about current projects & sharing tips & tricks of the trade. Hoping to learn new things from from others and also sharing resource lists. If you have any sewing questions/quandaries, please do ask me, I may have an answer or a new way to fix. I love exchanging ideas on new ways/tricks of stitching! (Small self-plug: If you'd like to discuss a commission, need to hire a professional seamstress or wardrobe person, please feel free to contact me via email: dreamsewing@gmail.com )

Discussion

One thought on “Catch-up#2- 2 hours project 1920’s/’30’s bias gown- Blue (stretch) Velvet

  1. That looks like 2 hours of amazing :)

    Posted by Bonnie | May 7, 2012, 7:21 pm

Leave a Reply

