//
you're reading...
General rambles

adventures in WordPress

A quiet night at home, whilst partner worked on 100% complete acheivements on DeadSpace, I puttered about setting up this blog.

Is it sick and wrong I actually *enjoy* tweaking site templates to the way I want it? Trolling through  my fabric photos to find the background pics I want and fussing over background shades?

(note to self, make a gallery of fabrics looking for a project/home in case anyone wants something made)

Still in process of sorting through soon-to-be-defunct Other accounts to compile and migrate over here. Rar, I know how to have a good time.

So any questions or hints folks need answered/help?

About dreamsewing

From Victorian/ Steampunk clothing, Asian inspired hair ornaments to simple alterations, I am an addict to learning new crafts. I've spent now 20 years traveling over the world and touring with various theatre companies, from Shakespearian, to ballet, to Cirque du Soleil. This blog is mainly for talking about current projects & sharing tips & tricks of the trade. Hoping to learn new things from from others and also sharing resource lists. If you have any sewing questions/quandaries, please do ask me, I may have an answer or a new way to fix. I love exchanging ideas on new ways/tricks of stitching! (Small self-plug: If you'd like to discuss a commission, need to hire a professional seamstress or wardrobe person, please feel free to contact me via email: dreamsewing@gmail.com )

Discussion

4 thoughts on “adventures in WordPress

  1. I have a question. Real Soon Now, I intend to get back to some table runners I’m putting together out of some spare velvet. They’re basically 18″ wide strips of velvet that I intend to edge in some spare satin ribbon.

    However, machine sewing satin to velvet is kind of a nightmare, involving a lot of sliding around, making straight seams difficult. Do you have any tips, or am I doomed to doing it by hand?

    Posted by Lord Carnifex | September 22, 2011, 5:23 am
    • It should not be too much of a problem if you are stitching it right sides together, then the velvet nap *should* grab the ribbon. If the problem is the satin ribbon is too slippery I would maybe add a third layer of thin cotton so your sandwich would be wrong side of velvet (most stable) on bottom,satin ribbon, then thin cotton (or somesuch backing fabric non-slippy) on top/presser foot side.
      – Stitch this way for the top seam, trim back the backing cotton
      -then turn/fold over your ribbon and stitch in the ditch (I am assuming you were just wanting a folded ribbon edging on the velvet?)
      I can do a demo/pics later, but at 05:30am, don’t think partner would appreciate me firing up the machine ;)

      Posted by dreamsewing | September 22, 2011, 5:35 am
  2. I’ve never read any of your stuff, so please forgive me if this exists somewhere blindingly obvious, but: I have a small amount of sewing experience, and recently made myself an apron, What projects could I tackle next? Where are good places for patterns (preferably including plus sizes)?

    Posted by Rebecca D.S. (@SkorpionUK) | September 22, 2011, 8:56 am
    • Hmm, well a good place to go for patterns (and all supplies bar fabric!)is:
      http://www.jaycotts.co.uk/acatalog/Sewing_Patterns.html

      Butterick & McCall both have a decent range on “plus” ( say with quotes as I think the sizing guides are :p). The Butterick patterns tend to be a bit simpler, but both have their skill level indicated on the package. McCall’s – 6331 is a nice easy 1950’s-esque halter dress/bathing/tennis outfit. Might be a nice follow up to apron.

      http://folkwear.com/aboutfolkwear.html have some great ethic/comfy patterns and most are quite simple/well explained. The Cheogsam (pic looks cheesy but pattern is great) is a nice simple one, stylish and flattering for curvy. As is the chinese jacket . I took that once and extended it down to make a nice full length dress.

      Burda also has a Plus size/easy range for basic officewear.

      Posted by dreamsewing | September 22, 2011, 10:04 am

Leave a Reply

